UPDATE 8/4: On Windows 10, when your device isn’t working correctly, running slow, or having battery and apps problems, resetting it to the factory default settings removing everything on all drives can help to fix most issues and start fresh with a new installation.
Do you want to remove all files from all drives?
Because you want a factory settings reset, choose “Remove everything (Removes all of your personal files, apps, and settings).” If you have a computer with multiple partitions, you are also asked whether you want to remove the files only from the drive where Windows is installed, or from all drives.
What happens when I remove all files from all drives?
By default, resetting PC will only remove files on the drive where Windows is installed and it won’t affect the data on any other drives. But if you choose to remove files from all drives, then all the data on the system disk will be removed.
Should I remove everything or keep my files?
If you just want a fresh Windows system, select “Keep my files” to reset Windows without deleting your personal files. You should use the “Remove everything” option when selling a computer or giving it to someone else, as this will erase your personal data and set the machine to its factory default state.
Does resetting Windows 10 remove files from other drives?
Disclaimer: All of your personal files will be deleted and your settings will be reset. All apps that you installed will be removed. Only apps that came with your PC will be reinstalled. You may create backup of the files on File History and check.
Can I delete everything in the D drive?
In the Windows operating system, you can easily format the D: drive. Doing so will clean the disk completely, erasing all programs and files from the drive.
Does Windows reset delete video?
This reset option will reinstall Windows 10 and keeps your personal files, such as photos, music, videos or personal files. However, it will remove apps and drivers you installed, and also removes the changes you made to the settings.
How do I completely clean my hard drive?
Go to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery, and click Get Started under Reset this PC. You are then asked if you want to keep your files or delete everything. Select Remove Everything, click Next, then click Reset. Your PC goes through the reset process and reinstalls Windows.
Does fully cleaning the drive remove viruses?
Running a factory reset, also referred to as a Windows Reset or reformat and reinstall, will destroy all data stored on the computer’s hard drive and all but the most complex viruses with it. Viruses can’t damage the computer itself and factory resets clear out where viruses hide.
What is the difference between just remove my files and fully clean the drive?
The Just remove my files option just deletes your files. The Fully clean the drive option, though, will overwrite all of your data numerous times with random information so that it is not easily recovered. This option is best suited for situations where you plan on throwing out or giving the PC to someone else.
How do I reset Windows 10 but keep everything?
Running Reset This PC with the Keep My Files option is actually easy. It will take some time to complete, but it is a straightforward operation. After your system boots from the Recovery Drive and you select the Troubleshoot > Reset This PC option. You’ll select the Keep My Files option, as shown in Figure A.
Will System Restore delete my files?
Although System Restore can change all your system files, Windows updates and programs, it will not remove/delete or modify any of your personal files like your photos, documents, music, videos, emails stored on your hard drive.
Will reinstalling Windows remove everything?
Although you’ll keep all of your files and software, the reinstallation will delete certain items such as custom fonts, system icons and Wi-Fi credentials. However, as part of the process, the setup will also create a Windows. old folder which should have everything from your previous installation.