Restoring an iPhone from backup will wipe all its contents, then replace everything with what’s in the backup. Whatever data is on your iPhone now, but not in the backup, will be GONE after the restoration process.
How do I reinstall iOS without losing data?
Solution 1: The Best Way to Restore iPhone Without Losing Any Data via dr. fone – Data Recovery (iOS)
- Step 1 Choose Recover Mode. …
- Step 2 Scan Your iPhone. …
- Step 3 One-click Restore iPhone Data. …
- Step 1 Backup your iPhone with iCloud. …
- Step 2 Restore your iPhone with iTunes. …
- Step 3 Restore your iPhone data from iCloud backup.
Will my photos be deleted if I restore my iPhone?
The photos and any other data you had yet to backup to iTunes will be lost. Because it is a restore of the data in the iTunes backup, your current data including photos on your iPhone will be erased and replaced by the photos in your backup.
What happens when you reinstall iOS?
The restore process erases all your data and settings and installs a new version of the iOS through iTunes while the device is connected to your computer. After the restore process is complete and a new copy of iOS is installed, apply a backup to return your settings and data to the iPhone.
Does installing iOS 14 delete everything?
If you download iOS 14 on your iPhone, and something goes wrong, you’ll lose all of your data downgrading to iOS 13.7. … Just know that backing up your iPhone while using iOS 14 may overwrite an older 13.7 backup. To avoid the issue, make sure to archive your backup as well.
How do I reset my iPhone and keep data?
To reset the settings on your device go to Settings >> General then scroll down and tap the Reset button at the bottom. On the Reset screen tap Reset All Settings – Not Erase All Content and Settings – then you’ll need to verify you want to do it twice.
Can I restore my iPhone without losing pictures?
“Restore iPhone from iTunes or iCloud backup” means to restore the contents of an iPhone backup in the past to your iPhone. … However, if you’ve backed up your photos, no matter what restoring you’re planning to do, there is no need to worry about losing photos, you can restore them from the backup you made.
What gets deleted when you restore your iPhone?
When you restore your iPhone, whether it’s from backup or as a “new” iPhone, all data on the phone since the last backup that was created will be erased (gone).
How do I install the latest iOS on my iPhone?
Go to Settings > General > Software Update. Tap Customize Automatic Updates (or Automatic Updates). You can choose to automatically download and install updates.
How do I reinstall an old iOS on my iPhone?
How to downgrade to an older version of iOS on your iPhone or iPad
- Click Restore on the Finder popup.
- Click Restore and Update to confirm.
- Click Next on the iOS 13 Software Updater.
- Click Agree to accept the Terms and Conditions and start downloading iOS 13.
How do I factory reset my iPhone 12?
From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Reset. Tap desired option: Reset All Settings Use this option before attempting a master reset. Erase All Content and Settings Use this option for master reset.
Will I lose my photos if I update to iOS 14?
In addition to making the process a little easier when you want to update the OS, it also will keep you from losing all your favorite photos and other files if your phone is lost or destroyed. To see when your phone was last backed up to iCloud, go to Settings > your Apple ID > iCloud > iCloud Backup.
What happens if you don’t update your iPhone?
Will my apps still work if I don’t do the update? As a rule of thumb, your iPhone and your main apps should still work fine, even if you don’t do the update. … Conversely, updating your iPhone to the latest iOS could cause your apps to stop working. If that happens, you might have to update your apps too.